Adoption into Christ’s Family

A few days ago I ran across this video tweeted by Matt Chandler, author and pastor of the Village Church in Fort Worth, TX. At about the minute point (the video is roughly 6 minutes long) I found myself sobbing joyfully. I bet if anyone walked in, it would have be a gross sight but I didn’t care. It’s probably the most beautiful thing I’ve seen in a while. Watch it for yourself.

Alright. Alright. Wipe away those tears. You better have cried after watching that because if that doesn’t move you, I don’t know what will…

Photo Credit: Thomas Hawk via Compfight cc

Photo Credit: Thomas Hawk via Compfight cc

Photo Credit: Sebastián-Dario via Compfight cc

Photo Credit: Sebastián-Dario via Compfight cc

…nothing? Not even a sniffle? Do I need to get Sarah McLachlan in here?

That’s what I thought. Let’s move on.

When I first watched the video, it didn’t help that they were playing one of my favorite songs in the background (I recognized it immediately on the piano), but one of the kids said something that truly hit me deep down in my soul.

When the Romanian son was talking about his early childhood he confesses “In Romania, at least at the time when I was born, when you were born with a “deformity,” it was considered a curse by God. I was kinda distanced, not treated right, not getting any care a normal baby should which is why when I was one and a half years old, I weighed nine pounds.”

I’ve heard horror stories such as these where mothers, after discovering some sort of defect within their baby (sometimes not even a defect) will abort their children essentially to try again. Or what about parents who upon discovery that their baby is at high risk for down syndrome will in 92% of cases abort their babies?  They’ll leave problem children sometimes because they have the freedom to do so, and other times, because they cannot take care of them. It’s really through no fault of the child, and the world just rejects them.

These children already experience the first couple years of their lives believing that God has abandoned them, the world has abandoned them and that no one loves them. When most children are adopted, they seem to struggle with the question, “why didn’t my parent want me?”

But in all this, the father in this video was quick to say adoption means so much more because it shows them that out of all the children in the world, they were specifically chosen to be his.

I love this video, and I feel like I already love this family. What they’ve done is beautiful and set up a wonderful inspiration for all of us. I believe though that not only can we see how wonderful this act is, but also how wonderful God is.

I’ll talk about it later, but right now know that we are broken. We aren’t the perfect people the world expects us to be. We are the deformed children cast aside by the cruelties of the world and destined to perish without love. But just like when the father in the video spoke about his choosing each of those kids, God chose us specifically buying us with the blood of Christ and inviting us to join His family as sons and daughters. He has wiped our slates clean, and God no longer cares about our past, inviting us to take part in all the joys He has to offer. (1 Corinthians 6:20; Galatians 4:5; 2 Cor 5:17)

Yeah that might sound hokey and cheesy, but that’s kinda what love is.

So go out today knowing that God loves you unconditionally even though we’re not perfect.

Banner Photo Credit: Spitefully via Compfight cc

One response to “Adoption into Christ’s Family

  1. That IS a beautiful video, thank you for sharing it. That connection with us and God becomes clear as you see the deformities of some of the kids – that THIS is how it is with God; He accepts all kinds – and we are all broken, have some disability or something that others might look at and ridicule or not understand. God loves us in such a way that He wants to give us all of his opportunities, like the parents in this video, because He knows our worth – a worth that isn’t affected by what’s broken about us. Those parents are such a good example of this. I also loved what the father said about adoptive parents choosing their children, out of every child in the world. Very cool way to look at it.

Leave a Reply

